

Zendesk competitors in 2026, compared for large support teams


Zendesk's main competitors in 2026 fall into three groups. AI-first platforms, where an AI agent resolves conversations end to end: Customerly, Intercom (Fin), Ada, Decagon and Sierra. Full help-desk suites: Salesforce Service Cloud, Freshdesk, HubSpot Service Hub, Zoho Desk and Kustomer. Shared inboxes for smaller teams: Help Scout, Front and Gorgias. For large support teams, the deciding factors are AI resolution rate, cost per resolved conversation and migration effort.
Last updated: 3 October 2026 · Competitor prices checked on each vendor's own pricing page: 3 October 2026
Zendesk competitors at a glance
We make Customerly, which is listed first. Every other entry is based on the vendor's own public pricing, product or help pages, checked on 3 October 2026. Where a vendor doesn't publish a fact, the table says so instead of guessing. Prices are list prices as shown on the vendor's page (USD unless noted); check the linked page before you buy, because they change.
| Vendor | Group | Best for | AI agent | How the AI is billed | Starting list price | EU data hosting |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Customerly | AI-first | Teams that want one AI agent and human inbox, with EU data storage | Native (Aura): answers, runs workflows through API calls, hands off to a human | Per AI conversation, on top of seats | See pricing | Yes, all customer data stored in the EU |
| Intercom (Fin) | AI-first | Teams that want Intercom's helpdesk, or Fin on top of another helpdesk | Native (Fin); also sold for other helpdesks | $0.99 per Fin outcome | Per seat plus Fin outcomes (see vendor page) | EU hosting (Dublin) for customers on a contract |
| Ada | AI-first | Enterprises adding an AI agent across voice, messaging and email | AI-only platform | Not published | Not published (quoted after a demo) | Not stated on pages checked |
| Decagon | AI-first | Enterprises adding an AI agent across voice, chat and email | AI-only platform | Per conversation or per resolution (rates not published) | Not published | Not stated on pages checked |
| Sierra | AI-first | Large consumer brands that want agents on chat, messaging and voice | AI-only platform | Outcome-based (rates not published) | Not published | Not stated on pages checked |
| Salesforce Service Cloud | Suite | Organizations already running on Salesforce CRM | Agentforce, billed separately | $2 per conversation, or Flex Credits | Starter Suite $25 per user/month | Hyperforce EU Operating Zone |
| Freshdesk | Suite | Mid-market teams that want a ticketing suite at a lower seat price | Freddy AI Agent; Freddy AI Copilot add-on | Per session: 500 included, then $49 per 100 sessions | Growth $19 per agent/month, billed annually | EEA data center, chosen at sign-up |
| HubSpot Service Hub | Suite | Teams whose sales and marketing already run on HubSpot | Customer Agent | HubSpot Credits; paid plans include a monthly allowance | Free tools; Starter from $7 per seat/month, billed annually | EU data center available |
| Zoho Desk | Suite | Companies already using other Zoho apps | AI agents and Zia, depending on plan | No per-resolution fee shown; token allowance on Express | Free plan for 3 users; paid prices shown in local currency | EU data centers (Amsterdam, Dublin) |
| Kustomer | Suite | Mid-market and enterprise B2C teams | Built-in AI agents | Not published | Not published (custom quote) | Not confirmed on pages checked |
| Help Scout | Shared inbox | Email-led teams that want a simple shared inbox | AI Answers add-on | $0.75 per resolution | Free plan (up to 5 users); paid from $25 per user/month | Not stated on pricing page |
| Front | Shared inbox | Teams that run customer work out of shared email | Autopilot AI agent; Copilot add-on | Per conversation, by task: from $0.05 (triage) to $0.89 (resolution) | Starter $25 per seat/month, up to 10 seats | Not stated on pricing page |
| Gorgias | Shared inbox (e-commerce) | Shopify and other online stores | AI Agent with order actions | $0.90 per automated interaction (annual), $1.00 (monthly) | Starter $10/month for 50 tickets; priced by ticket volume, not per agent | Not stated on pricing page |
How we evaluated them
We looked at each tool the way a Head of Support at a large team would during a shortlist:
- AI agent: native, sold as an add-on, or an AI-only platform that sits on top of a helpdesk.
- AI billing model: per resolution, per conversation, per session, credits or bundled.
- Seat cost: the published starting price, where there is one.
- EU data hosting: what the vendor's own pages say about storing data in the EU.
- What to check: one practical limit or condition worth asking about.
Who is Zendesk's biggest competitor?
It depends on the segment, so here is our assessment rather than a single name. In the enterprise, the most direct competitor is Salesforce Service Cloud, because many large companies already run their CRM on Salesforce. In the mid-market, Freshdesk is the suite most often compared with Zendesk, with a lower published entry price. In SaaS and digital businesses, Intercom is the usual alternative, built around messaging and its Fin AI agent.
The fastest-moving group is the AI-first one: Customerly, Intercom, Ada, Decagon and Sierra. These products start from an AI agent that resolves conversations, and treat the human inbox as the place for handoffs. If your goal is to lower the number of conversations a person has to touch, start your shortlist there.
AI-first Zendesk competitors
1. Customerly
Customerly is an AI-first customer service platform from Dublin, Ireland, whose AI agent, Aura, resolves support conversations end to end and hands off to human agents.
- Best for: support teams that want the AI agent and the human inbox in one workspace, with customer data stored in the EU.
- AI agent: native. Aura, Customerly's AI agent, is trained on your Help Center, canned responses and uploaded documents. In Flows it can run AI Missions and call your systems through REST API nodes, so it does real work, not only answers. Ready-made templates include Process Refund and Password Reset. When a human should take over, an agent takes the conversation with one click, and AI Companion can summarize it.
- AI billing: per AI conversation. Any conversation Aura takes part in counts once, however many messages it takes. Seats are billed separately. Current prices are on the pricing page.
- Channels: live chat, email, WhatsApp and Facebook Messenger in one inbox.
- Brand-safe replies: you set formality (casual, neutral or formal) and tone of voice, and Aura can link to the source articles it used.
- EU data hosting: all customer data is stored and processed in AWS data centers in the EU (security). See also our GDPR and EU AI Act pages.
- What to check: there is no phone or voice channel today. If voice is a large share of your volume, plan for a separate telephony tool.
More detail: Customerly vs Zendesk, the Zendesk alternative page and Aura, the AI customer support agent.
2. Intercom (Fin)
Intercom is a customer service platform built around messaging, with Fin as its AI agent.
- Best for: teams that want Intercom's helpdesk, or that want to add Fin to the helpdesk they already use.
- AI agent: native (Fin). Intercom also sells Fin for other helpdesks; its Fin pricing page lists Salesforce, HubSpot, Freshworks, Front, Zoho and Gorgias among them.
- AI billing: $0.99 per Fin outcome. Outcomes include a resolution (no further help requested after Fin's last answer) and some other outcomes, such as handoffs that follow a set procedure. Intercom charges once per conversation.
- Starting price: per seat plus Fin outcomes; see Intercom's pricing page. Our Intercom pricing breakdown walks through the plans.
- EU data hosting: Intercom offers US, EU (Dublin) and Australian data hosting to customers on a contract.
- What to check: with Fin on a non-Intercom helpdesk, the Fin pricing page sets a minimum of 50 outcomes a month.
More detail: Customerly vs Intercom, Customerly vs Fin AI and the Intercom alternative page.
3. Ada
Ada describes itself as an agentic customer experience platform: AI agents that resolve and act across voice, messaging and email.
- Best for: enterprises that want an AI-only layer across several channels.
- AI agent: AI-only platform.
- AI billing and price: not published. Ada's pricing page leads to a demo with an ROI model built on your volume.
- EU data hosting: not stated on the pages we checked; ask Ada directly.
- What to check: because there is no public price list, ask for the billing unit (resolution, conversation or other) in writing during the trial.
More detail: Customerly vs Ada.
4. Decagon
Decagon builds AI agents for customer service across voice, chat and email.
- Best for: enterprises with high conversation volume that want an AI-only layer.
- AI agent: AI-only platform.
- AI billing: Decagon describes two models on its own site: a fixed rate per incoming conversation, or a higher fixed rate per resolved conversation with no charge for escalations. It says most of its customers choose per-conversation pricing. Rates are not published.
- EU data hosting: not stated on the pages we checked; Decagon runs a trust center for security details.
- What to check: compare both billing models against your expected resolution rate before you sign (see the cost section below).
More detail: Customerly vs Decagon.
5. Sierra
Sierra is a conversational AI platform for businesses, with agents that work across chat, SMS, WhatsApp, email and voice.
- Best for: large consumer brands that want agents on many channels, including voice.
- AI agent: AI-only platform; agents can take actions and run multi-step workflows.
- AI billing: outcome-based ("pay for a job well done", in Sierra's words). Rates are not published.
- EU data hosting: not stated on the pages we checked. Sierra lists certifications including SOC 2, ISO 27001, ISO 42001 and GDPR.
- What to check: agree in writing what counts as an outcome, since that is what you pay for.
Resolution vs deflection: what to measure in a trial
Every vendor in this group will show you a high automation number. Ask what it measures.
- Deflection counts conversations where the customer didn't reach a human. A customer who gave up also counts.
- Resolution counts conversations where the problem was solved. Even this can mean different things: the customer confirmed it, or the customer simply didn't come back.
In Customerly, Aura Insights splits AI outcomes into Confirmed resolved, Assumed resolved and Escalated, by topic. Ask every vendor on your shortlist for the same three-way split, on a sample of your own tickets, during the trial. Then check that the outcome you are billed for matches the outcome you are measuring. A per-resolution price looks cheaper on paper; a per-conversation price is easier to forecast. The right one depends on your resolution rate.
Help-desk suites that compete with Zendesk
6. Salesforce Service Cloud
Salesforce Service Cloud is the customer service product of the Salesforce CRM platform.
- Best for: organizations whose sales and customer data already live in Salesforce.
- AI agent: Agentforce, billed separately from Service Cloud seats.
- AI billing: Salesforce's Agentforce pricing page lists $2 per conversation, or Flex Credits at $500 per 100,000 credits (a standard action uses 20 credits). Per-user Agentforce add-ons are also offered.
- Starting price: Starter Suite at $25 per user/month. Higher editions run up to $550 per user/month (Max).
- EU data hosting: the Hyperforce EU Operating Zone lets customers store and process data in the EU.
- What to check: price the seats and the AI usage together; they are bought separately.
7. Freshdesk (Freshworks)
Freshdesk is a ticketing helpdesk from Freshworks.
- Best for: mid-market teams that want a full ticketing suite at a lower entry price.
- AI agent: Freddy AI Agent, with sessions included in each plan; Freddy AI Copilot for agents as an add-on at $29 per agent/month, billed annually.
- AI billing: by session. Each plan includes the first 500 sessions, then $49 per 100 sessions. Freshworks defines a session as a unique interaction between a customer and the AI agent.
- Starting price: Growth at $19 per agent/month, billed annually.
- EU data hosting: Freshdesk data centers are in the US, EEA, UAE, India and Australia, and you choose the location at sign-up.
- What to check: model your session volume, not only your seat count. Read more in our Freshdesk alternatives guide.
More detail: Freshdesk vs Zendesk and the Freshdesk alternative page.
8. HubSpot Service Hub
HubSpot Service Hub is the customer service product of HubSpot's CRM platform.
- Best for: companies whose marketing and sales already run on HubSpot.
- AI agent: Customer Agent, which uses HubSpot Credits when it takes action.
- AI billing: HubSpot Credits. Paid plans include a monthly allowance (3,000 credits on Professional, 5,000 on Enterprise).
- Starting price: free tools; Starter from $7 per seat/month and Professional from $90 per seat/month, billed annually.
- EU data hosting: HubSpot runs an EU data center. New customers are assigned a location based on where they sign up, and existing paid customers can migrate.
- What to check: Professional carries a one-time onboarding fee on HubSpot's pricing page.
More detail: Customerly vs HubSpot and HubSpot competitors.
9. Zoho Desk
Zoho Desk is the help desk in Zoho's suite of business apps.
- Best for: companies already using other Zoho apps.
- AI agent: on the Express plan, AI agents that run on your own LLM key or Zoho's model; Zia, Zoho's built-in AI, on Professional and above.
- AI billing: no per-resolution fee is shown on the pricing page; on Express, AI agents can use your own LLM key or Zoho's model, with up to 30 million free tokens a month.
- Starting price: a free plan for 3 users. Zoho shows paid prices in your local currency, so check Zoho Desk pricing for your region.
- EU data hosting: Zoho runs EU data centers in Amsterdam and Dublin.
- What to check: the AI features differ by plan, so match the plan to the AI you need.
More detail: the Zoho Desk alternative page.
10. Kustomer
Kustomer is a customer service platform with built-in AI, used by more than 600 B2C and B2B companies according to its site.
- Best for: mid-market and enterprise B2C and B2B companies.
- AI agent: built-in AI agents.
- AI billing and price: not published. Kustomer asks you to complete an assessment, then quotes.
- EU data hosting: not confirmed on the pages we could check; ask Kustomer directly.
- What to check: ask for AI pricing and seat pricing in the same quote.
More detail: Customerly vs Kustomer.
Shared inboxes for smaller teams
11. Help Scout
Help Scout is a shared inbox and help center for email-led support teams.
- Best for: smaller teams that want a simple inbox.
- AI agent: AI Answers, an add-on agent that answers from your knowledge base.
- AI billing: $0.75 per resolution, charged only when the customer doesn't escalate or ask for more help.
- Starting price: a free plan for up to 5 users; paid plans from $25 per user/month.
- EU data hosting: not stated on the pricing page; ask Help Scout.
- What to check: user limits differ by plan.
More detail: Customerly vs Help Scout.
12. Front
Front is a shared inbox for teams that run customer work out of email and messaging.
- Best for: account and operations teams working from shared email.
- AI agent: Autopilot, plus Copilot for agents at $20 per seat/month as an add-on (included in Enterprise).
- AI billing: per conversation, priced by the task Autopilot does: $0.05 to triage, $0.39 to hand off with context, $0.89 to fully resolve.
- Starting price: Starter at $25 per seat/month for up to 10 seats.
- EU data hosting: not stated on the pricing page; ask Front.
- What to check: seat caps per plan (Starter up to 10 seats, Professional up to 50).
More detail: Customerly vs Front.
13. Gorgias
Gorgias is a customer service platform for e-commerce brands.
- Best for: Shopify and other online stores.
- AI agent: AI Agent with more than 130 pre-built actions, including order edits, cancellations and refunds.
- AI billing: $0.90 per automated interaction on annual plans, $1.00 on monthly plans. Each automated interaction also counts as one helpdesk ticket.
- Starting price: Starter at $10/month for 50 tickets. Gorgias prices by ticket volume, not per agent.
- EU data hosting: not stated on the pricing page; ask Gorgias.
- What to check: AI interactions use your ticket allowance too.
More detail: Customerly vs Gorgias.
Also worth a look for small teams: Tidio, Crisp, LiveAgent and HelpCrunch. See all alternatives.
How to compare AI support costs at 10,000 conversations a month
AI billing units differ, so list prices can't be compared directly. Use your own numbers instead. Take a team that gets 10,000 conversations a month:
- AI conversations (C): conversations the AI agent takes part in. Say 7,000.
- Resolutions (R): conversations the AI fully resolves. Say 4,500.
- Monthly AI cost:
- Per-conversation billing: C × price per conversation.
- Per-resolution billing: R × price per resolution.
- Per-session or credit billing: convert to conversations using the vendor's definition first.
- Break-even: per-resolution billing is cheaper only while price per resolution < price per conversation × C ÷ R. In this example, C ÷ R = 7,000 ÷ 4,500 ≈ 1.56. A per-resolution price must stay below 1.56 times the per-conversation price to cost less.
- Total: add seats for the agents who still handle the escalated conversations (here, the 2,500 the AI escalated plus the 3,000 it never touched).
Two things move the result most: your real resolution rate (measure it on your own tickets, see above) and the vendor's definition of a billable outcome. Ask for both in writing. For one vendor's model in detail, see our Intercom pricing breakdown; for Customerly, see pricing.
Switching from Zendesk: what migration takes
Most of the work is moving content and rebuilding automation, in an order that keeps risk low:
- Export contacts, tickets you need for history, and Help Center articles from Zendesk.
- Rebuild macros as canned responses, and triggers and automations as flows in the new tool.
- Train the AI agent first on your Help Center, canned responses and documents, and test it on real past questions before customers see it.
- Route channels one at a time, starting with live chat, then email, watching the resolved, assumed and escalated split as you go.
Customerly's team assists with migrations from Zendesk. Start with the Zendesk alternative page, or compare the two products side by side in Customerly vs Zendesk.
Which Zendesk competitor fits your team?
- More than 10,000 conversations a month and you want AI to resolve, not only deflect: start with the AI-first group (Customerly, Intercom, Ada, Decagon, Sierra) and run the resolution test above.
- Your CRM is Salesforce: Salesforce Service Cloud.
- Your CRM is HubSpot: HubSpot Service Hub.
- You use other Zoho apps: Zoho Desk.
- Fewer than 10 agents and mostly email: Help Scout or Front.
- You run a Shopify store: Gorgias.
- Customer data must stay in the EU: check the EU data hosting column, then confirm the details with the vendor's security team.
FAQ
Who is Zendesk's biggest competitor?
It depends on the segment. In our assessment, Salesforce Service Cloud is the main competitor in the enterprise, Freshdesk in the mid-market and Intercom in SaaS. AI-first platforms such as Customerly, Ada, Decagon and Sierra are the fastest-growing group, because they start from an AI agent that resolves conversations rather than from a ticket queue.
Which is better, Zendesk or Freshdesk?
Neither is better for every team. Freshdesk publishes a lower entry price (Growth at $19 per agent/month, billed annually) and bills its AI agent by session, while Zendesk Suite starts at $55 per agent/month (Suite Team, billed annually) and bills AI by automated resolution, with some resolutions included per agent. See our Freshdesk vs Zendesk comparison for the detail.
Is Zendesk a CRM?
Zendesk's core product is a customer service platform, not a CRM. Zendesk also sells a separate sales CRM, Zendesk Sell. Most large teams connect Zendesk, or any of its competitors, to the CRM they already use, such as Salesforce or HubSpot.
Which Zendesk competitor has the best AI agent for large support teams?
The best AI agent is the one that resolves the most of your own conversations at a cost you can forecast. Test the shortlist on a sample of your real tickets and ask each vendor for confirmed resolved, assumed resolved and escalated rates. Customerly reports exactly that split in Aura Insights; see Aura, the AI customer support agent.
How is AI customer service billed: per seat, per resolution or per conversation?
All three exist. Intercom bills Fin per outcome and Help Scout bills AI Answers per resolution. Customerly bills per AI conversation, and Front bills Autopilot per conversation by task. Freshdesk bills by session and HubSpot by credits. Zendesk includes some automated resolutions per agent and charges for more. Compare them with your own conversation and resolution volumes, as shown in the cost section above.
How long does it take to migrate from Zendesk?
It depends on how much ticket history you move and how many triggers and automations you rebuild. The steps are the same everywhere: export, rebuild automation, train the AI agent on your Help Center, then route channels one at a time. Customerly's team assists with Zendesk migrations; see the Zendesk alternative page.
Which Zendesk alternatives keep customer data in the EU?
Customerly stores all customer data in the EU. Among the others, Intercom (on contract), Salesforce (Hyperforce EU Operating Zone), Freshdesk, HubSpot and Zoho Desk publish EU hosting options on their own sites; Zendesk sells data center location as an add-on. For the rest, ask the vendor. See Customerly's security, GDPR and EU AI Act pages.
See Aura on your own tickets
The fastest way to compare is on your own conversations. Book a demo to see Aura on your own use cases, or compare Customerly and Zendesk side by side.
Automate Smarter with
Customerly Aura
Related articles
Get the latest strategies, tips, and trends in customer service Learn how to deliver exceptional customer service and boost customer loyalty.





